

NEWS RELEASE

For additional information, please contact Jacqui Garrison by phone (402-471-4865) or email (<u>Jacqui.garrison@nebraska.gov</u>) or David Jespersen by phone (402-471-4537) or email (<u>david.jespersen@nebraska.gov</u>)

July 19, 2018

NEBRASKA FBLA NATIONAL AWARD WINNERS NAMED

More than 390 Nebraska students, advisers, and guests recently attended the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland. Nebraska FBLA members competed June 28-July 1 in 71 competitive events. More than 9,000 FBLA members from 46 states, as well as U.S. territories and international chapters, attended the conference.

During the conference, members participated in leadership workshops, competitive events, and toured the city of Baltimore. This year's theme was "Elevate Your Future."

Nebraska members brought home 15 Top Ten awards. The Top Ten award winners are:

First Place:

- Jayden Herzberg, Lexi Faber, and Trevor Cumpston, Aurora Business Ethics
- Akshay Sharma, Lincoln East Insurance and Risk Management
- Tanner Kalinowski, Jack Mettin, and Avery Taylor, Bellevue West Computer Game & Simulation Programming
- Alia Hurst, Fillmore Central Public Speaking

Fourth Place:

- Regan Alfs, Shickley Business Financial Plan
- Jadyn Cattau, Jacalyn Kliewer, and Vanessa Wergin, Aurora Emerging Business Issues
- Kevin Coffey, Crete Introduction to Business

- Allison Sheen Kearney; Kylie Doupnik Harvard; Emily Kraemer Arlington;
 and Ryan Poppert Fillmore Central Parliamentary Procedure
- Andrew Sautter, Jacon Larsen, and Kelsey Larsen, Bellevue West Local Chapter Annual Business Report

Sixth Place:

- Nathan Peterson, Bellevue West Job Interview
- Riley Knust, Tri County Future Business Leader

Seventh Place:

- Wyatt Nun, Abbey Parten, and Elise Frook, Fillmore Central American Enterprise Project
- Ethan Vinson, Columbus Lakeview Introduction to Public Speaking

Eighth Place:

Mitchell Lierman, West-Point Beemer - Advertising

Tenth Place

Emma Bjork, Syracuse – Database Design and Applications

The following students were Top 15 Finalists:

- Elizabeth Kubicek, Cooper Bates, and Haley Baehr, Wilber-Clatonia Community Service Project
- Brett Petersen, Blair Future Business Leader
- Samantha Roberts and Elizabeth Johnson, Wausa Graphic Design
- Ryan Smith, Weeping Water Help Desk
- Anna DeSordi and Jordan Rhyner, Omaha Westside Marketing

Other national awards included:

First Place:

Market Share – Wausa – Nationally and Mountain Plains Region

Second Place:

Largest State Chapter – Mountain Plains Region

Market Share – Dorchester – Mountain Plains Region

National Business Achievement Awards – America Level (top award in this four-level program)

- Becky Earnest, Dundy County Stratton
- Claire Holling, Crete
- Gabi Wieck, Twin River
- Jessica Swanson, Gretna
- Jessilyn Coe, Crete
- Kyra Creamer, Dorchester
- Rachel Kraemer, Arlington
- Sydney Andreasen, Blair

National Community Service Awards – Achievement Level

- Alicia Dreier, Lincoln Northeast
- Andrew Peterson, Lincoln Southwest
- Becky Earnest, Dundy County Stratton
- Calista Shanle, Twin River
- Cooper Bates, Wilber-Clatonia
- Elsie Magwire, Boyd County
- Heidi Saner, Sandhills
- Jacy Hafer, Sandhills
- Kolton Witte, Johnson-Brock
- Maddy Rinkol, Twin River
- Michael Pulliam, Wilber-Clatonia
- Riley Nuttleman, Seward
- Samantha Hipke, Boyd County

National Recognition Event Winners

- Riley Knust, Tri County High School Who's Who in FBLA
- Brenda Budler, Chadron High School Nebraska Outstanding Local Chapter Adviser

Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit

- Arlington
- Bellevue East
- Bellevue West

- Blair
- Boyd County
- Centura
- Chadron
- Columbus Lakeview
- Crete
- Dorchester
- Dundy County Stratton
- Elmwood-Murdock
- Fillmore Central
- Kearney
- Raymond Central
- Sandhills
- Sargent
- Syracuse
- Tri County
- Twin River
- Waverly
- Wilber-Clatonia

Nebraska FBLA inspires and prepares students to become community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences. Nebraska FBLA is supported through the Nebraska Center for Student Leadership and Extended Learning at the Nebraska Department of Education.

####

David Jespersen Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education 402-471-4537 <u>david.jespersen@nebraska.gov</u> @NDE_News