2015 Commissioner’s Recognition for Excellence in Career Education

2015 Commissioner’s Recognition for Excellence in Career Education

Photos from the 2015 Commissioner’s Recognition can be found here.




One hundred fourteen Nebraska Career Education students were recognized in November for national awards they received earlier this year.

Commissioner of Education Dr. Matthew Blomstedt and Lieutenant Governor Mike Foley recognized the Nebraska Career Education students who received first, second, third place or finalist awards during national leadership and skills competition held by their respective Career Student Organizations. The students were recognized during a November 23 reception at the Nebraska State Capitol Rotunda. The following students are members of DECA, FBLA, FCCLA, FFA, HOSA, Educators Rising, PBL and SkillsUSA, Nebraska Career and Technical Student Organizations.

FBLA Award Winners:

  • Kamryn Timm, Trevor Koger, and Catie Theiler of Arlington High School
  • Eric Le and Jacob Shiers of Lincoln Southwest High School
  • Cody McCain and Riley Knust of Tri County High School
  • Heather Bentley of Amherst High School
  • Mia Kegley of Kearney High School
  • Josh Jones, Nate Brown, and Zach Brown of Bellevue East High School
  • Brenna Backemeyer of Elmwood-Murdock High School
  • Kaitlyn Quiring and Colton Siebert of Heartland Community High School
  • Kristen Bell, Allison Penner, and Alex Schneider of Aurora High School
  • Paige Nelson, Madeline Hall, and Cristian Perdomo of Bellevue West High School

FBLA, Future Business Leaders of America, provides career development programs for students interested in business administration, management, finance and information technology careers.

2015 NLC Results

Accounting II

Third Place: Colton Siebert, Heartland 

Banking and Financial Systems

First Place: Kami Timm, Catie Theiler and Trevor Koger, Arlington
Third Place: Eric Le and Jacob Shiers, Lincoln Southwest

Business Presentation

Fourth Place: Sam Hennings, Tori Clausen and Clair Vanness, Wausa
Fifth Place: Kendra Alberts, Johnson-Brock

Desktop Publishing

Ninth Place: Claire Kuenne and Makenna Wallin, Chase County

Emerging Business Issues

Third Place: Krissy Bell, Allison Penner and Alex Schneider, Aurora
Ninth Place: Natalie Elwood, Mirissa Scholting and Naomi Snyder, Elmwood-Murdock

Future Business Leader

Second Place: Brenna Backemeyer, Elmwood-Murdock
Eighth Place: Samantha Teten, Johnson-Brock

Local Chapter Annual Business Report

Fourth Place: Brandon Frates, Callie Zeorian and Owen Kunz, Elmwood-Murdock

Management Decision Making

Ninth Place: Ojus Jain and Alicia Zeng, Lincoln East
Tenth Place: Bradie Schmidt, Blake Bracht and Natalie Schmidt, Arlington

Mobile Application Development

Eighth Place: Edmon Adams, Omaha Westside

Network Design

First Place: Nate Brown, Josh Jones and Zach Brown, Bellevue East
Tenth Place: Devin Duren, Thomas Kinman and Austin Shroder, Grand Island Senior High

Parliamentary Procedure

First Place: Cody McCain and Riley Knust, Tri County; Heather Bentley, Amherst; Mia Kegley, Kearney

Partnership with Business Project

Third Place: Cristian Perdomo, Paige Nelson and Madeline Hall, Bellevue West

Sales Presentation

Fourth Place: Ali Faber, Aurora

Sports and Entertainment Management

Seventh Place: Matt Jensen and Brandon Keffer, Arlington
Ninth Place: Tommie Brechbill, Ashley Colwell, Sally Brechbill, Stanton

Word Processing

Second Place: Kaitlyn Quiring, Heartland



Distinguished Business Leader Scholarship

Trevor Koger, Arlington



2014 NLC Event Winners

Congratulations to our competitors!


American Enterprise Project

First Place: Wyatt Stroy, Natalie Elwood, and Brenna Backemeyer, Elmwood-Murdock

Banking and Financial Systems

Fifth Place:  Katharine Garrett and Kaitlyn Opplinger, Blair

Business Financial Plan

Third Place: Michaela Mapes, Omaha Westside

Business Plan

Eighth Place: Amzie Dunekacke, Erin Bohling, and Julia Oestmann, Johnson-Brock

Business Presentation

Ninth Place: Claire Vanness, Austin Conn, and Leanna Rosberg, Wausa

Desktop Publishing

Fourth Place: Kyle Bogatz and John Willey, Elmwood-Murdock Fifth Place: Makenna Wallin, Chase County Seventh Place: Trevor McQuay and Kylie Wiegert, Wausa


Ninth Place: Jennifer Russell, Waverly

Electronic Career Portfolio

Seventh Place: Colton Allen, Aurora

Emerging Business Issues

Sixth Place: Trevor Lockman and Brenna Backemeyer, Elmwood-Murdock Eighth Place: Nate Jurgensmeier, Dana Meduna, and Austin Barry, Bishop Neumann


Fourth Place: Allison Braun, Cody Kroeker, and Colton Siebert, Heartland

Future Business Leader

Eighth Place: Kelsey Bohling, Johnson-Brock

Global Business

First Place: Ojus Jain, Elliot Sandfort, and Alicia Zeng, Lincoln East

Health Care Administration

Tenth Place: Jocelyn Daubendiek, Elkhorn High

Hospitality Management

Seventh Place: Adrienne Cavill and Tianna Engen, Kearney High

Insurance and Risk Management

Third Place: Paul Weber, Cedar Bluffs

Introduction to Business

Seventh Place: Ethan Hall, Heartland Tenth Place: Leslie Braun, Heartland

Introduction to Information Technology

Sixth Place: Mason Goodman, Blair

Job Interview

Third Place: Julie Slama, Auburn

Management Information Systems

Tenth Place: River Towne, Jared Frenzel, and Eli Kennedy, Auburn

Parliamentary Procedure

First Place: Dylan Steinkruger, Minden; Cody McCain, Tri County; Abi Sheen, Kearney High; Anna Bauerle, Chase County

Partnership with Business Project

Tenth Place: Aaron Halvorsen, Emily Harsin, and Jameson Bennett, Syracuse

Public Service Announcement

Fourth Place: Callie Zeorian and Lindsay Mills, Elmwood-Murdock Sixth Place: Kendra Alberts, Johnson-Brock

Public Speaking II

Sixth Place: Katie Ruth, Adams Central

Sports and Entertainment Management

Seventh Place: Trevor Koger, Blake Bracht, and Dillon O’Flaherty, Arlington Tenth Place: Caleb Goeken and Tommie Brechbill, Stanton