The Nebraska Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) state competitive events were held at the 57th annual State Leadership Conference in Omaha April 5-7.


More than 2,300 students and advisers from 138 Nebraska schools attended the conference with more than 75 chapter, team, and individual events. Students placing first, second, or third in the competitive events qualified to compete at the FBLA National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, June 27‑July 2.


The 2018-2019 Nebraska FBLA State Officers are:

 Alek Timm of Arlington High School, president

Drake Vorderstrasse of Adams Central High School, vice president

Morgan Mills of Elmwood-Murdock High School, secretary

Kirk Rangel of Arlington High School, treasurer

Olivia Sis of Dundy County Stratton High School, reporter

Bryan Zutavern of Sandhills High School, parliamentarian


A complete list of winners can be found here.

Non-Stop November

FBLA chapters must complete a total of 5 tasks focused on recruitment and retention. Two (2) activities are required and three (3) are chosen from a list of 8 optional activities.

Recognition for FBLA Non-Stop November

  • Special ribbons for all chapter delegates in attendance at the National Leadership Conference.
  • All chapters that complete FBLA Non-Stop November will be listed on FBLA-PBL social media and the national website.

Deadlines for FBLA Non-Stop November

The deadline for submissions is December 10.

Preview the FBLA Non-Stop November Activities

Preview the list of activities.

National Anthem at SLC

Congratulations to Cole Tessendorf!  Cole, a senior from Lakeview High School, was selected to sing the National Anthem at the 2017 State Leadership Conference opening session.  Cole is an active four-year member of Lakeview FBLA. He is a 2-time NLC Qualifier and has served as the local chapter reporter for 2 years. He is the National Honor Society President and is involved in football, speech, track and field, mock trial, and Legion baseball. He sings in the Lakeview show choir, Viking Voices, and was selected for All State Choir in 2016.

SLC Registration Due February 17

2016 National Award Winners

More than 336 Nebraska students and advisers recently attended the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) National Leadership Conference in Atlanta, GA. Nebraska FBLA members competed June 29-July 2 in 65 competitive events. More than 12,000 FBLA members from 46 states, as well as U.S. territories and international chapters attended the conference.

Nebraska members brought home 18 Top Ten awards. The Top Ten award winners are:

Second Place

  • Nicole Kent, Dundy County Stratton – Future Business Leader

Fourth Place

  • Makayla Damme, Johnson-Brock – Business Plan
  • Jesse Lin, Lincoln East – Economics
  • Owen Wurst, Ethan Hall, and Haley Huebert, Heartland – Entreprenuership
  • Akshay Sharma, Lincoln East – Introduction to Business
  • Hundter Biede, Adams Central; Abi Sheen and Mia Kegley, Kearney; Danielle Neugebauer, Lincoln Southwest – Parliamentary Procedure Team

Fifth Place

  • Jayden Garrett, Chadron – Job Interview
  • Elmwood-Murdock – Local Chapter Annual Business Report

Sixth Place

  • Leslie Braun, Heartland – Business Law
  • Shailee Hayek and Jac Clements, Elmwood-Murdock – Public Service Announcement

Eighth Place

  • Jared Ladd, Nick Hodge, and Autash Parvanehgohar, Lincoln Southwest – Hospitality Management
  • Blair – Local Chapter Annual Business Report
  • Ashtyn Cooper, Elmwood-Murdock – Sales Presentation
  • Aubree Noble, Brooklyn Stack, and Hunter Hawk, Chadron – Website Design

Ninth Place

  • Hannah Nelson, Wausa – Accounting I
  • Jacob Sorensen and Brett Petersen, Blair – Life Smarts

Tenth Place

  • Jonna Bart, Megan DeVries and Cassidy Brechbill, Aurora – Emerging Business Issues
  • Claire Redinger and Mary O’Keeffe, Hastings St. Cecilia – Publication Design

The following students were Top 15 Finalists:

  • Banking and Financial Systems: Ojus Jain, Keenan Allen, and Andy Zhu, Lincoln East
  • Community Service Project: Maddy Rinkol, Calista Shanle and Shyla Oberhauser, Twin River
  • Digital Video Production: Hunter Koepke, Kade Moural, Lisa Oswald, Aurora
  • E-business: Scott Hedglen, Ryan Walter, and Matthew Wittig, Bellevue East
  • Introduction to Business Presentation: Jadyn Cattau, Jacalyn Kliewer, and Vanessa Wergin, Aurora
  • Marketing: Devan Blancett, Emma Milenkovich, and Alison Raszler, Elkhorn High
  • Publication Design: Halie Lewin and Ethan Percival, Ashland-Greenwood

Other national awards included:

Second Place:

  • Largest State Chapter – Mt. Plains Region
  • Largest Increase in State Chapter Membership – Mt. Plains Region

Ninth Place:

  • Business Achievement Award (BAA) Fight to the Finish

National Business Achievement Awards – America Level (top award in this four-level program)

  • Nicole Kent of Dundy County Stratton High School
  • Abi Sheen of Kearney High School
  • Abby Kile of Lawrence-Nelson High School
  • Alyssa Miller, Lawrence-Nelson High School
  • Brooke Orcutt of Raymond Central High School
  • Samantha Young of Syracuse High School
  • Michaela Lawrence of Weeping Water High School
  • Erin Finley of Wilber-Clatonia High School

National Community Service Awards – Achievement Level

  • Marian Sanchez of Bellevue West High School
  • Zachary Vincent of Bellevue West High School
  • Anne Ryschon of Burke High School
  • Abigail Etherton of Cozad High School
  • Clarissa Bors of Dorchester High School
  • Nicole Kent of Dundy County Stratton High School
  • Megan Hawks of Elmwood-Murdock High School
  • Eliza Donley of Hastings Adams Central High School
  • Grant Moles of Johnson County Central High School
  • Bryce Sahs of Johnson County Central High School
  • Jack Duffy of Kenesaw High School
  • Rose Wehrman of Kenesaw High School
  • Henry Molnar of Lincoln East High School
  • Elise Pape of Omaha Marian High School
  • Danielle Gilliland of Wakefield High School
  • Megan Muller of Wakefield High School
  • Alejandra Orona of Wakefield High School
  • Michaela Lawrence of Weeping Water High School

National Recognition Event Winners

  • Nicole Kent, Dundy County High School, Who’s Who in FBLA
  • Dawn Friedrich, Wausa, Nebraska Outstanding Local Chapter Adviser
  • Nebraska FBLA, 9th in Big Ten Business Achievement Awards

Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit

  • Columbus Lakeview
  • West Boyd
  • Elmwood-Murdock
  • Sandhills
  • Blair
  • Arlington
  • Bellevue West
  • Raymond Central
  • Kearney
  • Twin River
  • Filmore Central
  • Tri County
  • Dundy County Stratton
  • Litchfield
  • Auburn
  • Centura
  • Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca
  • Bellevue East
  • Sargent
  • Weeping Water
  • Wilber Clatonia
  • Johnson-Brock
  • Fairbury